top of page
  • Sarah

Show Yourself Some Love

Updated: Jan 25, 2019

A collection of body care products that are as good to your body as they are to the planet.





Everyone knows how important it is to be mindful what we put in our bodies. A good diet is crucial to lasting health and vibrancy, and I truly believe that our eating habits make the biggest difference in how we look and feel. But what about the things we put on our bodies?


It's all to easy to get caught up in the never-ending cycle that is the beauty industry. Thousands of expensive new products are released all the time, each claiming to have the answer to all of our appearance-related problems. I know that I was stuck in this loop. I can't even tell you how many bottles of half-used (sometimes barely used) lotions and creams and serums I had taking up space under my bathroom sink. The makeup and perfume I had hoarded. The hundreds of dollars I spent at Sephora...


But then I woke up. If I'm striving to nourish the inside of my body with high quality, non-processed, plant-based foods, why wouldn't I do the same thing for the outside?

So I've compiled a list of my favorite products (so far). Each of these are free of harmful chemicals, vegan, cruelty-free and made with the planet in mind. These are all products that I have tried and loved.


Invocation

This is a Canadian company that I am truly obsessed with. The creator of this company is a traditional shaman named Blue Eagle, and he first decided to create an essence that could be used as a replacement for traditional smudging (the burning of sacred herbs to purify people and places) in the hospitals where he found he could not use fire and smoke. He traveled to France to learn about traditional perfume making, and when he returned to Canada he created CHIIYAAM. The company now has several other essences, all made with natural ingredients by hand and all infused with intentions by shamanic rituals. Their products are made from pure essential oils and alcohols and often with scavenged materials.


I fell in love with CHIIYAAM the moment I first encountered it, and have bought some for friends and family over the years because it's just that good. I also use it in my massage practice almost daily because of its calming and meditative effects. It can be used to purify a room, center the mind, or as a perfume if you simply want to smell great without wanting to spray yourself with artificial products.


Neuma

I was first introduced to this line of products at a staff meeting at the salon/spa I work at and was immediately impressed by the long list of chemicals they exclude from all of their products. In fact, they exclude more than any other professional hair care brand. They are also fully committed to sustainable practices including green chemistry, recycled material for packaging, wind power at their facilities and pledges from all of their vendor partners to operate sustainably. I was almost equally impressed by how well their products perform. They smell amazing thanks to pure essential oils, and they work. Check out their website to learn more about their amazing products and business practices.




Routine Cream Deodorant

This is another Canadian brand that I adore. This company was started in Alberta, Canada by two rad ladies who wanted better options for natural deodorants. Routine Cream is a cream deodorant, packaged in glass containers and made with natural ingredients. Not all of their products are vegan as some contain beeswax, but they do have a pretty extensive list of formulas that are vegan. And I should mention that they work great and smell even better. Check out their blog post about eliminating plastics from your beauty routine.






Magic Mud

This next one might not be a secret to many of you. It made huge waves when it was launched, and for good reason. This natural toothpaste works incredibly well, even though it's free of the harmful chemicals found in other more artificial brands. Made with activated charcoal from coconut shells, calcium bentonite clay, and organic orange peel and mint extract, this toothpaste is the real deal. I've used both the tooth powder and the toothpaste and I can honestly say that my teeth felt the cleanest they ever have after just one use. These products whiten your teeth, keep cavities at bay and are backed up by tons of research.



Of course, there are tons of recipes out there for making your own activated charcoal toothpaste or powder at home. And because making body care products at home is easy, cheap and good for the environment it's always a good idea to see if you can replace any of your current products with things you can make yourself. Just be careful with activated charcoal, because it has the potential to damage your teeth if it's too abrasive.

There's also no need to scrub aggressively because the porous nature and negative charge of the charcoal will actually draw in the bacteria and plaque and absorb it. So consider using your finger to apply it to your teeth, or use your toothbrush gently.


Everyone by EO

This is another fairly popular brand due to the efficacy of their products and what they stand for. They are made with all-natural and organic ingredients, and manufactured sustainably. I was originally drawn to them at my local health food store because of their reasonable price tag compared to other natural body care brands. And I was not disappointed. I've tried their bath soaks, shampoo and body lotions (this company has you covered for almost all of your body care needs, including natural deodorant, essential oils and baby products) and I've loved them all.




 

It's always in your best interests, and the best interests of the planet, to make as many body and home care products as you can at home. This gives you complete control over ingredients, cuts down on packaging, and is usually a little easier on your wallet. But if you plan on shopping for beauty and body care products I urge you to look into the company you're buying from. Try your best to find products that are made with good ingredients that won't compromise your health, and that are manufactured sustainably and cruelty-free.


 

This is by no means a comprehensive list of natural products, and I'll be adding to it as I encounter and try new products that I vibe with.


Cheers - Sarah

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page